Slovenia news information team affilates
Dora Debeljak - Euro & The Refugee Crisis

Dora Debeljak from June List, Slovenia speaks at the EU Counter Summit in London, on Nov 7th 2015.


Officially the Republic of Slovenia is a member of the European Union (1 May 2004) and NATO. Slovenia was a founding member of the Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia, later renamed the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. In June 1991, after the introduction of multi-party representative democracy, Slovenia split from Yugoslavia and became an independent country. Slovenia joined the European Union on 1 May 2004.
Slovenia has one Commissioner in the European Commission, and seven Slovene parliamentarians were elected to the European Parliament at elections on 13 June 2004.
In 2004 Slovenia also joined NATO. Slovenia subsequently met the Maastricht criteria and joined the Eurozone on 1 January 2007. On 21 July 2010, it became a member of the OECD.

Currency: Euro since 1 January 2007 (formerly tolar, SIT)

Population:2 Million